Traffic Offenses

Many traffic violations may seem trivial but some can lead to problems you didn’t count on: increased insurance premiums, loss of your driver’s license, Habitual Violator classification, expensive fines, or even a permanent criminal record. Jail time is even possible. You shouldn’t go to court without a lawyer. You can call me any time (678) 561-0411 to discuss how I can help you.

Some driving offenses can be paid on line or over the phone. But it is very important to remember that if you do that, it is considered an admission of the offense for which you have been cited, and you will suffer any possible penalties to your driver’s license (i.e., points) that are associated with those offenses. It is essential that you speak with an experienced attorney with an understanding of how these offenses can affect you.

Hirsch Criminal Defense has experience in negotiating with Solicitors who prosecute traffic offenses in multiple jurisdictions. Oftentimes citations can be reduced to lesser offenses, easing the burden and minimizing the consequences you face, or be dismissed all together.

Common Traffic Violations in Atlanta

Some of the most common criminal traffic offenses in Georgia are:


Reckless Driving


Aggressive Driving

Homicide by Vehicle

Serious Injury by Vehicle

Fleeing or Eluding a Police Officer

Super Speeder Fine

Don’t let a traffic ticket cause more damage than it should. Call Hirsch Criminal Defense now at (678) 561-0411 or fill out the form for a free consultation.

Georgia’s Driving Point System

According to Georgia Law, a Georgia driver’s license can be suspended for acquiring too many points under the driver’s license point system, which is based on traffic violations and the age of the driver. The purpose of the system is to identify habitual violators.

For a list of driving offenses, their associated points, and information on license point reduction, visit the Georgia Department of Driver’s Services website.

Adults who accumulate 15 points on their driver’s license in 24 months will suffer a 12 month license suspension. Accumulating 15 points twice within five years, the license suspension is for three years. Three times, and it will be suspended for two years.

Under 18 drivers who commit a 4 point offense will suffer a six month license suspension on a first offense. For a second or subsequent offense, the suspension period is for one year.

You may be eligible for a limited driving permit for going to work or school, going to the doctor, attending driver’s education classes, or to and from ignition interlock centers. Once the suspension is over, the points system starts over.

Automatic License Suspensions

Offenses that result in a license suspension:

  • Driving on a suspended or revoked license
  • Hit and run
  • Racing
  • Homicide by vehicle
  • Any felony where a motor vehicle was used
  • Fleeing or attempting to elude an officer
  • Fraudulently or fictitiously using or applying for a license
  • Refusal to submit to alcohol testing
  • Operating a motor vehicle without a valid license
  • Failure to appear in Court
  • DUI alcohol / drugs
  • Any drug or marijuana offense

15 points accrued on your license in a 24 month period 4 or more points in a 12 month period if you are under the age of 18

IF YOU OR YOUR CHILD IS ARRESTED or given a citation for a Traffic Violation, or your license has been suspended, fill out the form or call Hirsch Criminal Defense now at (678) 561-0411 for a free consultation.

Communities Served

Hirsch Criminal Defense serves people charged with crimes in Atlanta and the surrounding metropolitan area...

Contact Us for a Free Consultation

Fill out the contact form or call us at (678) 561-0411 or (888) 547-0323 to schedule your free consultation.

Leave Us a Message